Showing off my Underbelly

3

June 4, 2013 by Beth Hess

With a group of wonderful new Facebook friends, I’m reading Daring Greatly, by Brene’ Brown. (Yes, the same author as that other book I talk about all the time here.) In short, it’s become a beautiful discussion on vulnerability, which meant I got to read this today: “The things I respect about my choices and others all lead back to choosing to be vulnerable in one form or another.”

Upon reading, I’m breathless.

Yes. Yes! Me, too!

The pivot point of all the things that have made the most difference in my life have been about choosing to be vulnerable.

  • Will you play with me?
  • Do you want to come to my birthday party?
  • I will trust my life to Jesus.
  • I’m trying out for an All-State choir.
  • Yes, I’ll go to a movie with you.
  • I love you.
  • I’m leaving.
  • Can we still be friends?
  • I don’t really know how to do my own laundry.
  • I’m a reporter … may I ask you some questions?
  • I’m scared about my future.
  • I’m moving to Arizona. No, I don’t know anyone there.
  • I do.
  • I don’t think I’m Ok.
  • I’m seeing a counselor.
  • I’m a Mom!
  • I don’t want to move.
  • We’ve moved.
  • I need to find a new job.
  • I think stopping the medication was a bad idea.
  • What if God wants me to do something else?
  • We need to stop spending our money like this.
  • I am leading a small group.
  • I’m writing a blog.
  • I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.
  • I need to take a break.
  • I’m trusting God with this one.

Just maybe, then, being vulnerable turns out to be the bravest thing you can be.

 

3 thoughts on “Showing off my Underbelly

  1. Feel so privileged to have met you through our facebook book club. These words are a beautiful story of your path to authenticity and bravery. Thank you for sharing. I am so excited to see where we will go daily as a group and individually in this discussion.

    Like

  2. Kelsy Timas says:

    One more thing we have in common!! I’m reading Daring Greatly and daring greatly too…vulnerability is the doorway to intimacy… Brene has a powerful message:)

    Like

  3. Lisa K. says:

    So, so true

    Like

Leave a comment