The Shelter of God’s Promises (by Sheila Walsh)

Leave a comment

January 29, 2011 by Beth Hess

Over the last couple of years, I have had moment after moment where my mind and heart returns to the Hymnal of my youth, and with the benefit of life experience I begin to discover the jewels packed inside the words I sang over and over again. As I was reading The Shelter of God’s Promises, by Sheila Walsh (a gift of the BookSneeze program), it was this hymn that kept running through my mind.

He hideth my soul in the cleft of the rock; That shadows a dry, thirsty land;
He hideth my life in the depths of His love, And covers me there with His hand,
And covers me there with His hand.
(Hideth my Soul, by Fanny J. Crosby)

In this book, Walsh uses the metaphor of a cleft in a rock to describe the shelter we find when know, and let God’s hand cover us with the promises he has made — and kept — to generation after generation. God’s promises, like a cave in a storm, provide a place of safety and security in the midst of the inevitable  insecurity, pain, and hardships of life. For every hurt, every doubt, every sadness, every pain, God has already made a way through with his promises. His promises reveal the depth of his love for us. That is the message of this book.

Each chapter is a focused look at one promise, given to address one specific need. For example, the need of  “I Don’t Have Enough” is met with God’s promise of Provision. “And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:19) Then Walsh expertly weaves personal stories with Biblical examples of how God has kept that promise over and over and over. By addressing just one need (or one fear, you might say) in each chapter, this book both reads well cover to cover and will serve as a regular “go-to” resource when I need a fresh reminder of God’s word toward a specific aspect of my human struggle at any given time. My copy is already well-marked, dog-eared, and highlighted, and I anticipate finding even more relevant truth on each new reading.

The Shelter of God’s Promises also includes a Bible Study Guide, and I am sure this would be an excellent text for Group or Individual study.

Leave a Reply

