Book Review: Close Enough to Hear God Breathe

Leave a comment

October 9, 2011 by Beth Hess

Throughout the stories of the Bible, and, indeed, the stories of our own lives, God reveals how deeply dedicated He is to bringing us ever closer to Himself. Close enough to hear Him breathe. A mix of scripture, reflections on Biblical events, and his own personal life story, author Greg Paul provides evidence of the many ways in which God brings us close, whispers our name, and calls us Beloved.

It is a topic I have been journeying with over the last several months. Knowing that I know that I know that God is real. He is close. He knows me intimately, and He is inviting me to know  him in the same way. For that reason, I was drawn to the title of this book. There are passages I underlined … concepts I want to come back to and dig into more through my personal journaling time. I was especially grateful for the chapter about Adam and Eve BEFORE they ate of the Tree of Knowledge of Good & Evil. How often we glaze over this part of the story, and, to our own detriment, forget God’s original plan for his relationship to humans. Innocent. Intimate.

However, this was not the book I was expecting by the title. I am grateful for fresh insights on Bible stories I have heard many times. I am thrilled that the author has felt God close to him in his own life experiences. But I guess I was hoping for a more practical look at how to get and STAY close enough to hear God breathe. And while I enjoyed reading about the author’s journey, it was often a stretch to find the connection between the story and the topic at hand. It left the book feeling less cohesive than a full manuscript should — and more like a series of essays, some of which should be have been used in a better format or a future book.  

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

