Book Review: Going Deep

Leave a comment

October 28, 2011 by Beth Hess

 I devoured this nearly 400-page book in less than 24 hours. And didn’t want it to end. Going Deep by Gordon MacDonald is a fictional account of a church that decides its highest calling is to Cultivate Deep People. But it reads like the story of people you hunger to know involved in a process you long to be a part of. For anyone who has ever asked, “I love Jesus but how can I know him more,” this is a must-read.

I admit I typically do not read a great deal of fiction that is intended to have a “lesson” as well. I prefer my novels breezy and fun. And when I want to learn more about a life of faith, I stick squarely in the non-fiction section. So I was a little concerned this could feel contrived with characters crafted to fit a certain stereotype just to teach a certain lesson. But, no. These people are easy to connect with, genuine in their attributes, and feel like people who really live in your church and mine. And this book will inspire you to go find them.

As I read their journey of doing life together – Going Deep both into God’s word and into the investment in each other, it made me long for such connection in my own life. To be cultivated. To become a cultivator. Which, I am really pretty sure, is EXACTLY what the author intended. May there be a tidal wave of Cultivating Deep People movements across our land!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

