Five Minute Friday: Remember

5

November 4, 2011 by Beth Hess

Too often I come to a new bridge to cross in my life. A plan that turns out other than planned. A sudden turn of events. A habit I thought was gone that creeps back in. And I stand there in panic. The river so cold. The expanse so wide. The fear palpable. If I can even see a bridge, I fear it won’t hold. So I consider camping out on THIS side of the river. Maybe whatever is on the other side isn’t where I’m supposed to go anyway. I’ll just stay here. It’s not worth the risk. “I could drown, you know!”

But then I REMEMBER. I turn around for a moment and see all the rivers, valleys, and scary places crossed before. The bridges and obstacles look different from this side. I REMEMBER my God is the best bridge-builder imaginable. Beyond imagination actually.

And remembering helps me take the first step to the other side of this one, too.

 

Join the 5-minute movement at The Gypsy Momma in her 5-Minute Friday challenge. Each week she posts a word. Set your timer for 5 minutes and just write. No stopping. No editing. Only 5 minutes. Just my style!

 

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Remember

  1. Kris says:

    You are so right! Often we do not see God working until we take the first step into the river. And the first step is usually the scariest. But God says to us, just like He said to Joshua1:9 – “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”
    Thanks for the beautiful words – and the picture to go with it.
    Kris

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Considering a huge change here in Bloomington and this helped…it really did! Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  3. BethinNC says:

    Amen! Hind-sight is 20/20 isn’t it? When we look back and see God’s faithfulness, it helps us to trust Him yet again.

    Wonderful post. I came over from Gypsy Mama’s place.

    Blessings!
    Beth

    Like

  4. Stacy says:

    When we remember God’s faithfulness in the past, we find the strength to step out into the future. He is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow…and you are so right! He Holds!
    Loved this post!!!!

    Like

  5. Jessica says:

    I clicked on over from Lisa-Jo’s because I saw the picture of the bridge. When my husband and I lived in West Africa we crossed many bridges (on foot and in vehicles) that looked like this one. We always held our breath. Rarely was there ever a problem. Thanks for sharing these words. God’s bridges are stronger than they look.

    Like

Leave a Reply

