Five Minute Friday: Trust

8

February 10, 2012 by Beth Hess

Head back. Arms out.

The water will hold.

And even as the sea rises and falls, it holds. Through the rain and the sun, it holds. Whether I stay face up at the sky of wide open possibilities or turn myself over to stare at the darkness below, the water holds.

And when I stay like this, it is effortless. I could do it for hours; days; a lifetime. So why do I fight the urge to check the bottom again? Can I touch? Should I paddle? Could I save myself? How far away is the shore? Am I the only one out here?

Nothing but the sound of my own breathing. Sometimes I find it peaceful. Sometimes, helpless.

The water holds. I am learning to float.

Join the 5-minute movement at The Gypsy Momma in her 5-Minute Friday challenge. Each week she posts a word. Set your timer for 5 minutes and just write. No stopping. No editing. Only 5 minutes. Just my style!

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Trust

  1. […] Five Minute Friday: Trust, February […]

    Like

  2. […] harder to float when the current is moving swiftly. The moves are not as relaxed as head back, arms out. The whole process – far less […]

    Like

  3. Phoebe says:

    This is so beautiful. Thank you. 🙂

    Like

  4. kelli says:

    Very deep.
    (Pun intended.)

    Thanks, Beth! So glad to be “reconnected” with you — truly a joy to read your posts and watch God at work!

    Like

  5. Jerri says:

    I’ve never thought much about it – but you have to trust to float …

    Actually, we are kind of “floating” through life, trusting the water to hold us.

    I like this!

    Like

  6. I love this! Brilliant and beautiful! You are an amazing writer!

    Like

  7. Stacie says:

    Beautiful description. And I liked the open-endedness of it, how the reader can interpret and apply it in her own way. Well-written.

    Like

  8. I hopped on over from the Gypsy Mama… I love your writing… it is beautifully poetic… and amazing for just 5 minutes…

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

