Five Minute Friday: Ache

2

March 2, 2012 by Beth Hess

I blink and it’s March. Just a few days from starting the final weeks of 1st grade.

What have I missed as the time sped by? All the “some days” are slipping past.

I want it to slow. I ache for it to slow.

Dreams. Goals. The things that really matter. They get swallowed by “that which must be done.” I ache for more. For the abundant life God has promised.

I am pleased that I ache for it. Too many know not such an abundance is even available. So they ache alone. Or they numb to the ache; balm it with a cure God never intended.

The ache is good.

Psalm 42
1 As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God. 2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God? 3 My tears have been my food day and night, while they say to me all the day long, “Where is your God?” 4 These things I remember, as I pour out my soul: how I would go with the throng and lead them in procession to the house of God with glad shouts and songs of praise, a multitude keeping festival. 5 Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation 6 and my God.My soul is cast down within me; therefore I remember you from the land of Jordan and of Hermon, from Mount Mizar. 7 Deep calls to deep at the roar of your waterfalls; all your breakers and your waves have gone over me. 8 By day the LORD commands his steadfast love, and at night his song is with me, a prayer to the God of my life. 9 I say to God, my rock: “Why have you forgotten me? Why do I go mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?” 10 As with a deadly wound in my bones, my adversaries taunt me, while they say to me all the day long, “Where is your God?” 11 Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.

Join the 5-minute movement at The Gypsy Momma in her 5-Minute Friday challenge. Each week she posts a word. Set your timer for 5 minutes and just write. No stopping. No editing. Only 5 minutes. Just my style!

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Ache

  1. kelli says:

    Had the same ache as I walked down my country lane today and observed the amazing way nature sings — pure worship to our common Father. I ache to *live* as part of this worship. All about Him, none about me.
    Love what you said — the ache is good.
    It means we are drawn away to our Home.
    Great post.

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    Yes, the ache is a good reminder, isn’t it? Glad to be your Five Minute Friday linky neighbor!

    Like

Leave a Reply

