Five Minute Friday: Loud

4

March 23, 2012 by Beth Hess

Still water. Hushed tones. Barely audible. Sometimes God speaks to me in a whisper. A breeze. It forces me to settle myself. Get quiet. Listen closely.

These are precious, intimate times. Secrets between friends. A stirring in my soul in a way I know is only my Jesus. I recognize his speech. He calls me “child” and he sits really close. It’s a lullaby.

But sometimes He is loud. Still close. Still soothing. But loud. And clear. So there can be no mistaking the words said. He lifts my head so our eyes meet and His voice is heard all the way to the tips of my toes and the bottom of my soul. Trumpets. Roaring lions. The ripping of a temple curtain.

God’s loud lullabies.

Join the 5-minute movement at The Gypsy Momma in her 5-Minute Friday challenge. Each week she posts a word. Set your timer for 5 minutes and just write. No stopping. No editing. Only 5 minutes. Just my style!

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Loud

  1. I love the notion of God speaking like secrets between friends. Yes. Beautiful. This is the intimacy I want with my Jesus, too.

    Like

  2. Elise says:

    Beth! 🙂

    Yes — “He lifts my head so our eyes meet… ” so true and beautiful. I love His loud lullabies, and need them like my children requesting songs as they lie in the dark, trying to embrace rest.

    Thank you so much for sharing! Pure gift.

    Like

  3. Kelly says:

    Yes! I love this! 🙂

    Like

  4. Becky says:

    You are so right! And each way He speaks is just as precious. Beautifully written.

    Like

Leave a Reply

