What are the Rules for a Road You’ve Never Been Down?

2

June 4, 2012 by Beth Hess

While I am well aware that the weight-loss “rules” I’ve used previously have had mixed, and never lasting, results, at least there were some guidelines to follow. I could measure my “goodness,” chart my “obedience,” and know where I messed up. If I’m honest with myself, even though I fight such structure sometimes, I still prefer it in many ways.

So when I heard God’s call to “Head North” and follow His directions this time, I was left a little confused about what to do next.

I’m being careful with the “shoulds” and “musts” that fill my mind about the “right” way to weight loss. And I am open to hear the Holy Spirit’s leading.

Here’s where we are so far:

  • I will trust my body, my mind, and my spirit are all working with me.
  • I will be present while eating. No more eating in a fog.
  • I will measure success by my attitude and openness to healing, not by numbers on a scale or a tag in my jeans.
  • I will appreciate input from others but check everything against God’s personalized path for me.
  • I will encourage others but not push my path on them.
  • I will drink water, milk, or tea. No soda or juice.
  • I will throw away food when it’s the best alternative to overfilling my stomach.
  • I will not eat things that don’t taste good.
  • I will be grateful for all the foods in which I can indulge rather than be angry over those I have chosen to avoid.
  • God can add to and change these rules. Beth cannot.

P.S. I’m blogging my weight-loss journey under the category “40 Pounds of Purpose” … if you want each new entry emailed to you, please subscribe using the link on the right of this page. You’ll also be able to read an archive of entries over time right HERE.

2 thoughts on “What are the Rules for a Road You’ve Never Been Down?

  1. […] Putting down food that doesn’t taste good […]

    Like

  2. Katherine says:

    The whole notion of going down a road I’ve never been down (or up) is pretty scary. I am a control freak and while it’s often very exciting when I get to the end of a new path, I’m not too happy along the way. Phil can attest to that on our last trip to the mountains. Oh, those roads!!
    You are talking about giving up the control and “giving” it to God. I don’t think my relationship with God is strong enough to even know how to approach that effort. That, of course, if something for me to learn – it’s not God’s problem.
    This is a little like the conversation we had when we discussed my powerlessness over my emotions and my reaction to the word “powerless”. No control. I do see a theme……More to come, I’m sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

