What are you Craving?

2

June 7, 2012 by Beth Hess

“What we’re craving will always depend on whatever we’re consuming.” (Made to Crave)

I agree with author Lysa TerKeurst.  What your stomach gets, it wants more of. “Can’t eat just one,” is not just a potato chip advertising slogan. It works for cookies, scoops of ice cream, and pieces of bread, too. Which is why I should not have been surprised by my sugar relapse even after being sugar-free for a year.

But it’s also why I work so hard to consume gratitude. Feast on family time. Eat up encouragement.

It’s why I desire to move my body, show others their awesomeness, and experience the fullness of God’s best for me.

It’s why I want to coach women to crave more of the good stuff!!

So… What do YOU crave?

On this Think About It Thursday, here is your assignment:

  • What do you crave more of in your life? Do a journal entry, a blog post, meditate on it, make a list. (Quiet? Peace? Exercise? Relationship? Health? Wealth? Intimacy with God?)
  • Choose one to focus on for this follow-up question… How can I consume a taste of this in the next 24 hours? (If you crave wealth, you may have to experience saving, so skip Starbucks tomorrow morning and put that $$ in a piggy bank. If you crave exercise, do some! If you crave better relationships, let a kiss linger.)
  • DO IT!
  • Tell me about it in the comments section below. (If you blog about it, include your link.)

What you consume is what you will crave, so if you want more of something, start consuming it. (And I’m not talking about chips!)

P.S. I’m blogging my weight-loss journey under the category “40 Pounds of Purpose” … if you want each new entry emailed to you, please subscribe using the link on the right of this page. You’ll also be able to read an archive of entries over time right HERE.

2 thoughts on “What are you Craving?

  1. kelliwoodford says:

    Your beginning quote made me think of this: “Spiritual hunger is the opposite of physical hunger. With food, you eat and then you’re full. But with God, the more you eat, the hungrier you are.”

    I am craving more of Him. In my thoughts. In my actions. In my words.

    I have tasted that He is good and nothing else satisfies.

    Consuming more? Hmmm . . . I think I’ll start with tasting His flavor in what I’ve already got. Because if He’s not a god afar off, then He must be a God nearby. Indeed, in Him we live and move and have our very being.

    Going to make pizza now . . . here’s a start on “practicing the Presence” in the daily!

    Thanks, Beth, for the challenge! 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, Kelli, you’re right on with so many of these points. Our pastor said recently, “God wants you to know He’s not just a God; He’s YOUR God. I will be their God & they will be my people.” Thanks for your comments.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

