Five Minute Friday: Expectation

5

June 8, 2012 by Beth Hess

“It’s not really summer yet,” says my exacting 7-year-old. He already knows that seasons “technically” start on certain days, and that it’s not yet that appointed day in June.

“Well, maybe not officially,” I say. “But your summer vacation from school has started.” He will concede me that point.

Lazier days. Later nights. Swimming pools. Sleep-overs. Even some days with no schedule at all.

We start to make plans for special trips. We schedule the “alone” days at Grandma & Grandpa’s. The mood is pregnant with expectation. Right now, the Summer of 2012 could be anything at all.

And I feel every minute of it. Every stinkin’ perfect minute of it. In a way I haven’t really felt since my own “School’s out for summer” days.

It’s barely begun. And I can’t wait for the rest. Can’t wait to live the Summer of 2012. Really, REALLY live it!


 J
oin the 5-minute movement at The Gypsy Momma in her 5-Minute Friday challenge. Each week she posts a word. Set your timer for 5 minutes and just write. No stopping. No editing. Only 5 minutes. Just my style!

 

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Expectation

  1. […] The expectation of an amazing summer […]

    Like

  2. Colline says:

    A fantastic expectation to have – and one i would never want to live without 🙂

    Like

  3. Kim Jones says:

    oh I forgot to mention that I stopped by from Five-Minute Friday!

    Like

  4. Kim Jones says:

    Summer is almost as blissful as the waiting for it is! I love the openness of it…the invitation to go anywhere! Have a great time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

