One Little Word – 2013 Style

4

January 1, 2013 by Beth Hess

 

Fuel Gauge

Over the last months, as my Float through 2012 was coming to an end, I began to look around the landscape to assess where this 366-day journey had dropped me off. Where and how has the landscape of my life, my walk, my calling, changed? As I have admitted previously, it was mostly a year of starts, then stops. Which led to inaction and reaction. Just hanging on for the ride. But maybe that’s what floating is.

A year ago, I said this: “The call is to let this current carry me this year. Rest in God. Yield. Breathe. Relax. Floating is not about laziness or apathy. It’s a movement forward knowing God is in control. So I can stop being frantic – busy for the sake of busy. Lean on God. Rest in the shadow of His wing. And float.”

Trusting, then, that God has been faithfully directing my river this year — its direction, its speed, its whirlpools and rapids, its calm and restful places — I am free to welcome exactly the place I find myself in this first day of the New Year.

Even so, my spirit is stirring for something new in 2013. Something bigger. Something more … Alive.

So God brought me here, to Paul’s prayer for the Ephesians: “And I pray that you … may have power to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ — that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.”

Fullness.

Wonder-FULL
Peace-FULL
Beauty-FULL
Grace-FULL
Thank-FULL

Almost as instantly as I snuggled into Fullness as my One Little Word for 2013, God whispered another. Empty.

Empty of expectation
Empty of regret
Empty of fear
Empty of pride
Empty of self

So, Welcome 2013. My year of Two Little Words. Empty & Full.

 

4 thoughts on “One Little Word – 2013 Style

  1. […] is the 4th Year I’ve adopted One Word for the year. You can link to others below: 2013: Empty & Full 2012: Float 2011: […]

    Like

  2. […] the words I declared in January that I would focus on throughout the year, the scales have been tipped way more to the empty then than the […]

    Like

  3. […] in my depleted state – my emptiness – one drop is absorbed too quickly. So instantly I am dry again. So very, very far from my desired […]

    Like

  4. Kristi says:

    Awesome words…. My words for this year are “searching for Silver”… I was going to do “finding gray” but gray is too dull….. I am tired of being either Black or White with fitness, teaching and life… I want to be ok with bei.comng in the middle….. So I am searching for SILVER this year and I am excited about it. My all or nothing personality will be challenged. I love reading anything you write…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

