Listen

2

June 15, 2013 by Beth Hess

If The Spirit speaks but the child is distracted, does He still make a sound?

Sometimes I wonder.

It’s so loud in there most of the time — in my head. Between the “supposed to” and the “what were you thinking?” … the early morning jolts of forgotten tasks and the tunes that won’t let go. It’s like the trading floor of the Stock Exchange in there. So many shouts all vying for my attention. What do I respond to first?

Most days it has me spinning.

But every once in a while, a calmer voice breaks through. Surrounded by the Holy, Holy, Holy singing of the cherubim and seraphim. His voice.

Everything else falls silent.

Finally I can hear again.

 

 Join the 5-minute movement at The Gypsy Momma in her 5-Minute Friday challenge. Each week she posts a word. Set your timer for 5 minutes and just write. No stopping. No editing. Only 5 minutes. Just my style!

2 thoughts on “Listen

  1. Renee Pierce says:

    So True. We can get so distracted by the busyness of life, but what a peaceful calming effect falls upon us when we take the time to really listen for the Lord. After walking with the Lord for 17 years I am still learning to abide in Him all day long. I’m visiting you today from Five Minute Fridays. It’s nice to meet you!
    Renee

    Like

Leave a Reply

