Five Minute Friday: Glue

1

April 18, 2014 by Beth Hess

She had only been working with our company for about a week when she started calling me “The Glue.” I knew it was a complement. That she sensed my style, my demeanor, my way of doing my job helped keep the unavoidable craziness at a manageable level. That it helped everyone feel a little more put together.

But I found it ironic. Because I barely feel “together” at all. Messy house. Messy desk. Messy bank account. Socks aren’t matched and put away. Dinners get thrown together at the last minute.

If I’m holding anything together at all, it’s surely with string and chewing gum.

My cracks, surely, are showing.
And then I saw this:

goldglue

To repair with gold. Because the piece is more beautiful for having been broken.

Because the crimson blood of Jesus turns to gold in my weak spots. And I am more beautiful for having been broken.

 

Join the 5-minute movement at The Gypsy Momma in her 5-Minute Friday challenge. Each week she posts a word. Set your timer for 5 minutes and just write. No stopping. No editing. Only 5 minutes. Just my style!

One thought on “Five Minute Friday: Glue

  1. E Wright says:

    “Because the crimson blood of Jesus turns to gold in my weak spots. And I am more beautiful for having been broken.” Beautiful and moving post, Beth. Thanks for sharing it. Visiting from Five Minute Friday. A blessed Easter to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

