Word of the Week: For When Creation Envelopes Me

8

June 30, 2014 by Beth Hess

Ephesians 3-17The crescent moon hangs over the slate sky. Wispy white deepening to an antique ivory. All at once she is joined by a full population of stars. As if they all agreed to arrive overhead at precisely the same moment. The heavenly host stands guard until the dawn returns.

***

The day’s storms have pounded the roof relentlessly. Loud and long, so quickly the earth cannot drink it quickly enough. The air is heavy. Sticky and warm. But as the clouds break, the evening reveals a pink/orange sunset, reflected in the streams and the puddles.

***

Tiny toes tickle the ocean. Perhaps for the very first time. He runs, arms wide open, into the ebbing tide, which chases him in return. Back and forth, wave after wave plays tag with a toddler.

***

My life is full. And wide. And long. And high. And deep with His love.

I inhale all the way to my toes and drink it all in. Sipping at first, then lapping quickly in the wonder of it all until I submerge myself in its grace.

Enveloped in creation. And its Creator.

And even as I float in the fullness of it all, I find myself longing to have you join me. That you, too, would find yourself over and under and inside and beside and wrapped completely in His love — in whatever ways He wants to show it to you.

I pray that … you would understand how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. (Ephesians 3: 16-18)

____________________________________________________

I return each Sabbath for a fresh Word of the Week. For the God-breathed pages to come alive in a phrase or two on which to spend a 7-day feast. To meditate upon. To use as a jumping off point for whatever other words God would have me hear during the week. I would love for you to join the Word of the Week (WOW) discussion by adding your selected verse to the comments … or reflections on any scripture reading. 

Linking with Unforced Rhythms — a wonderful community of writers who gather each Monday to share with you HERE.

 

8 thoughts on “Word of the Week: For When Creation Envelopes Me

  1. S.L. Payne says:

    Beth, this is beautifully written- your words create such pictures that I feel like I’m there with you! This is so worshipful and it is so encouraging to remember to live in the moment and soak in the beauty and grace of God in all these beautiful moments. I get so caught up in the day to day, I hate to think of how much I’m really missing. Thanks for reminding me!

    Like

  2. ambercadenas says:

    Beth, your prose is fresh air to my soul today. These images and the truth that breathes them out upon us, friend, I love how you are enfolded in creation and the Creator’s limitless love. Thank you for this invitation to join you.

    Like

  3. Simply Beth says:

    I read this on Monday but apparently forgot to leave a comment. I loved this. Very moving. His Word is living and active! Wishing you a beautiful day. xoxo

    Like

  4. Hi Beth, I’m glad to link up after you. I really love your post. “My life is full. And wide. And long. And high. And deep with His love.

    I inhale all the way to my toes and drink it all in. Sipping at first, then lapping quickly in the wonder of it all until I submerge myself in its grace.

    Enveloped in creation. And its Creator.” Is the part that really got me. I love those lines. My word for this week is from Ephesians too, the first chapter. I believe there is much in that boo for a believer. Have a blessed week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

