For When My Mind is Wishy-Washy (Word of The Week)

20

August 3, 2014 by Beth Hess

I opened my eyes
And looked up at the rain,
And it dripped in my head
And flowed into my brain,
And all that I hear as I lie in my bed
Is the slishity-slosh of the rain in my head.

I step very softly,
I walk very slow,
I can’t do a handstand–
I might overflow,
So pardon the wild crazy thing I just said–
I’m just not the same since there’s rain in my head. (Rain by Shel Silverstein)

*****

2Samuel23-4The ground beneath me feels squishy. Maybe it’s the storm outside my window. Maybe it’s the one in my brain.

The one that wrestles with should vs. will. Want to vs. actual action. Daring to imagine vs. settling for the known.

I’m never quite sure which voice will emerge. The wet blanket. Or the optimist.

The sun that firms my foundation. Or the rain that quenches my thirst.

Maybe neither is the answer. Perhaps both are right.

Working in tandem to grow me for the good.

He dawns on them like the morning light,
    like the sun shining forth on a cloudless morning,
    like rain that makes grass to sprout from the earth. (2 Samuel 23:4)

____________________________________________________

I return each Sabbath for a fresh Word of the Week. For the God-breathed pages to come alive in a phrase or two on which to spend a 7-day feast. To meditate upon. To use as a jumping off point for whatever other words God would have me hear during the week. I would love for you to join the Word of the Week (WOW) discussion by adding your selected verse to the comments … or reflections on any scripture reading. 

Linking with Unforced Rhythms — a wonderful community of writers who gather each Monday to share with you HERE.

 

20 thoughts on “For When My Mind is Wishy-Washy (Word of The Week)

  1. Micah says:

    Can definitely relate with that in-between sort of mental space. Should do vs will do. I’ve not quite figured out a fail-proof way for overcoming it yet but I am slowly learning to act even when I don’t feel like it, and expect my feelings to catch up. Really like your blog by the way, my first time here but think I’ll come again.

    Like

    • Beth Hess says:

      Thank you, Micah, for coming by. Would love to have you back. I appreciate your advise on the “doing it anyway” … which is probably a far more mature approach than the toddler-style tantrums I sometimes throw.

      Like

  2. I’m trying to make more peace these days with both/and instead of only either/or. So I love this!

    “Maybe neither is the answer. Perhaps both are right.
    Working in tandem to grow me for the good.”

    Like

  3. ambercadenas says:

    You know, Beth, one of the things I love about this is how you’re giving yourself permission to be a complex, contrasting person, and how there is richness and beauty and freedom in this. It’s one of those things about God that I think can really throw us for a loop… I wonder why it surprises us so much that we reflect some of this in our nature, too? I think you’re onto something, and you are very much not alone. Love to you in the squishy places.

    Like

    • Beth Hess says:

      It’s actually very, very hard for me to not feel like a hypocrite when I hit these times. Complex and contrasting gets muddled in my brain and comes out looking a lot like “liar, liar, pants on fire” … But you are right that God himself is a beautiful mystery of compassionate toughness and fiery love. And it’s Ok not to define myself as one thing or another. Because building that kind of cage around myself is the opposite of freedom. And the antithesis of grace.

      Like

  4. kd sullivan says:

    What an awesome poem to quote and prompt writing! It’s an overused saying, but it does take rain and sunshine to make a rainbow!

    Like

  5. micey says:

    Love this. I’m totally walking on squishy ground these days.

    Like

  6. joepote01 says:

    Love the poem!

    Last Friday I took a vacation day, with the intent of a 3-day weekend trip to visit family…but the trip was cancelled due to schedule conflicts. However, I took the vacation day, anyway, thinking of the many things I needed to do around the house. But it rained all day…so I wound up mostly being lazy…catching up on reading and blogging a little…

    I call it a mental health day…and sometimes we need those.

    Thanks for the lovely reminder!

    Like

  7. Dana says:

    Oh, what a rich poem, and YES – both working in tandem. So thankful for the way both good and pain are tools in His hands, for how He uses them both inside us with such tenderness. Bless you, new friend. Glad to find you at Kelli’s today. 🙂

    Like

    • Beth Hess says:

      It is rich, isn’t it?! And freeing, in a wonderful way, that the sogginess I sometimes feel in there… well, there’s no reason to hide it or apologize for it. Sometimes we all get a little rainy and sometimes we all get a little silly and that’s just quite alright.

      Like

  8. joanneviola says:

    “Perhaps both is right.” We so need the sun & the rain to make sense of this life. Wonderful post!

    Like

  9. ‘I’m never quite sure which voice will emerge. The wet blanket. Or the optimist.’

    You’ve met me smiling, Beth. For you’ve led me to the mirror.

    ;-}

    Happy Monday, friend …

    Like

  10. Simply Beth says:

    I love Shel Silverstein. It’s been so long since I’ve read something of his. We are studying 1 Corinthians at church and I find myself meditating on 1 Cor. 2:9, “What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard, and what no human mind has conceived – the things God has prepared for those who love him.” In the life application study Bible it says, “We cannot imagine all that Gad has in store for us, both in this life and for eternity. He will create a new heaven and a new earth and we will live with him forever. Until then, his Holy Spirit comforts and guides us. Knowing this wonderful and eternal future that awaits us gives us hope and courage to press on in this life, to endure hardships, and to avoid giving in to temptation. This world is not all there is. The best is yet to come.”
    Gives me goose bumps.
    Wishing you a beautiful week. I love beginning my week here!!
    Much love.
    xoxo

    Like

    • Beth Hess says:

      I am grateful for this hope, too, friend. That He has SO MUCH in store for us. But on the rainy brain days, it’s hard to remember the sun will return. And it just starts to feel like my thoughts might rot in there waiting for the “someday” … But He sends glimpses of his glory when I need it most. Like knowing you are reading with me on Mondays. It’s a gift. Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

