She Waits (Five Minute Friday: Whisper)

4

September 5, 2014 by Beth Hess

stock-footage-rain-falling-in-pool-with-water-lilies-leavesShe sits patiently and waits.

Because Grace never raises her voice.

And she gets lost in the Whys and the I Don’t Wants and the I’m Not Enoughs. The words that bounce through me and reverberate in the loudest tones. The tantrum I want to throw.

IT’S NOT FAIR!

Because sometimes it’s not. And I want to scream it with every fiber of my being.

But Grace waits.

And when the loudness dares to take even the slightest pause, I can almost hear her singing. I dare to shhh the rest, so I can hear her better.

Because Grace never raises her voice.

But when I settle myself enough to hear, her gentle rain penetrates my crustiness. And when the other words are washed away, Grace is the loudest whisper I know.

__________________________________________________________

Five-Minute-Friday-4-300x300Prompted by Five Minute Friday, a movement to grab a new word each week, set your timer for 5 minutes, and just write. No stopping. No editing. Only 5 minutes. Just my style!

4 thoughts on “She Waits (Five Minute Friday: Whisper)

  1. I love how He whispers to us in His gentle, loving voice. I experienced this once when I was deep in worry and He whispered to me that I am “not a Gentile”. I wrote a blog post about it as it moved me deeply. We serve a loving God who is full of compassion and grace. Thank you for this!

    Like

  2. This is beautiful, Beth. I love the picture you paint of Grace and waiting.

    Stopping by from Five Minute Friday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

