For When I am Stirred, but Not Shaken (Word of The Week)

9

September 21, 2014 by Beth Hess

 

Isaiah54-10The air still hangs thick in the Carolinas. The sweaters are still packed away. The AC still hums.

But the days are shorter, and the cotton fields are blooming their fluffy white. Summer is having her last dance.

Oh, how my heart longs for a real and true change of the season. For a reprieve from the heat. From the heavy. For the refreshment of a crisp breeze. The satisfaction of a harvest.

The leaves begin to fall, and the wind gives them flight. They swirl along the sidewalk. They dance. And shimmer. And look alive.

Until they settle back in their original positions.

And I know that feeling.

Another lap around the same circle. The finish line the same as the start. Did I miss an exit ramp along the way? Did I refuse to take it? Because when I’m rushing round and round, it can feel like living. Until the repetition becomes dizzying. And deflating.

The liar speaks over me: “All your movement is pointless. You aren’t getting anywhere.”

But Grace, she wonders, if what feels like spinning is really a stirring. A growing restlessness against the sameness. A folding together of grace and faith. A strengthening of energy for a new direction. A building of momentum. A turning over of my spirit’s soil. An aeration of my soul.

Because I am stirred. But not shaken.

The mountains may be shaken and the hills removed. Yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed, says the Lord. (Isaiah 54:10)

His love is the path beneath me. And the banner over me. And the shield before me. And the guard behind.

So as the changing of the season tiptoes my way. As it lingers longer than I wish it would. My footing is secure. Even if the path is circular.

Because on the breeze, I hear it coming. In my soul, I feel it stirring.

A new song. A ripening field.

A day of harvest is near.

____________________________________________________

I return each Sabbath for a fresh Word of the Week. For the God-breathed pages to come alive in a phrase or two on which to spend a 7-day feast. To meditate upon. To use as a jumping off point for whatever other words God would have me hear during the week. I would love for you to join the Word of the Week (WOW) discussion by adding your selected verse to the comments … or reflections on any scripture reading. 

Linking with Unforced Rhythms — a wonderful community of writers who gather each Monday to share with you HERE.

9 thoughts on “For When I am Stirred, but Not Shaken (Word of The Week)

  1. ambercadenas says:

    Yes, yes, YES! I feel the stirring here in your words and the images they paint and the grasping to see something other than what it feels like – because though they can appear the same, the shaking and the stirring, they are not. And I sense this change coming for you, sweet friend, though only Grace knows what that will look like. Even here, I’m hearing you hum tunes of a new song, and I’m leaning in to hear more… xoxoxo

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    What a lovely question and contrast, spinning versus stirring. What we tell ourselves, the truth we speak about the walk of faith, is so important, and that includes the way we look at things. Thank you for sharing you thoughts on perspective.

    Like

  3. Dana says:

    YES…. it’s coming. May your heart be encouraged and at rest in His commitment to His process — His movement and work inside you and through you – today. Bless you, friend.

    Like

  4. Sharon says:

    Oh, beautiful and inspiring!! How your words have also stirred my spirit today! Yes, I have been in a long season of stagnation (at least it feels that way) – and yet, I have felt the deeper working of the Lord.

    Just like a deciduous tree looks dead in the winter, but isn’t – so it is with us. I believe that God is preparing us for new growth and new work. In Him, we will BLOOM anew!!

    GOD BLESS!

    Like

  5. Cheryl Smith says:

    Oh, dear friend! I SO know what you mean! I have felt that gentle stirring in my spirit and am left to wonder what it all means! After a time, it becomes downright frustrating, but there is strength to be found in waiting upon God’s perfect timing. God bless you. I so enjoy your posts in my inbox.

    Like

Leave a Reply

