Pressing Pause (Sugar Sober Series)

7

October 9, 2014 by Beth Hess

mental-clutter1

As The Spirit loves to do, He repeats messages to me in various places until I get the message.

This one is about Silence. Rest. Sabbath. Quiet.

The Holy Pause.

So I’m taking one on the blog today.

Not a pause from staying off sugar. No, my sobriety is still FAR too young for that. I may never get a pause day from that.

This is just a breather from the focusing on it. A break from the thinking on it all the time. A chance to steady myself on this high wire before taking another step.

I think that’s an important part in the process. Giving my mind and soul a moment to rest and clear some of the clutter that can occur with an overabundance of information — no matter how good and purposeful it might be.

I’ll see you back here tomorrow. Rested.

P.S. A beautiful resource in this lesson has been Bonnie Gray’s stunning book Finding Spiritual Whitespace. It’s sure to be one of the things I’ll be reading today while I’m not writing.

If you’ve landed here today looking for inspiration on a journey of Sugar Sobriety, please hop over HERE to get all the links in the series so far.

____________________________________________________

sugarsoberoctoberIn response to the 31 Day blogging challenge, I will be publishing EVERY DAY in October while I stay sugar-free. You can read previous posts HERE. To be alerted to new posts, please follow me on Facebook or Twitter using the links on the right side of this page. Or Subscribe to get posts sent to your Email. Feel free to Tweet your own experiences with #sugarsoberoctober as well.

PLEASE use the comment section to share your own thoughts, questions, or experiences. Like any road, sugar sobriety is one more easily walked with friends. I do my best to reply to every comment.

7 thoughts on “Pressing Pause (Sugar Sober Series)

  1. […] 9: Pause. And Breathe.: I think rest’s an important part in the process. Giving my mind and soul a moment to rest […]

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your experiences so far! I love Bonnie Gray’s book also! I am not good at taking breaks and am slowing learning to find more white space in my life. Thanks for the reminder today.

    Like

  3. No harm in taking a break; a pause in the day to day writing. I have take a break as well, posting a poem rather than rambling on and on about Dementia’s Demands. The demands ARE great, and the pause along the way is helpful. You are to be commended for your challenge – and being “sugar sober” cannot be easy (I am sure I’d find it hard!!!). Keep it up; we are with you!

    Like

  4. Cheryl Smith says:

    So thankful you are sharing with us here! You are so relatable, and it is a blessing! Enjoy your pause today, as the precious Holy Spirit takes this time to speak new information to you…I will look forward to hearing what He has shared. : God bless you on your journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

