It’s Good to Be a Little Naive (Sugar Sober Series)

7

October 24, 2014 by Beth Hess

When my son was born via unplanned C-section, I didn’t have the luxury of advanced planning to know what to expect from the surgery recovery. The nurses told me if I felt up to it that I should walk the halls of the maternity ward while pushing the bassinet.

I felt up to it, and I went for walks.

What I didn’t realize at the time was how much pain the hospital-grade medication was masking.

I wasn’t ready. But I was brave enough to think I was.

And maybe that’s how recovery starts anyway. Because if we knew in advance the pitfalls, the pain, the temptations, the disappointments. All the ways things wouldn’t go as planned. The two steps forward, one step back-ness of it all. Well, we’d probably never start walking.

The challenges have shown themselves in unexpected ways over the last three weeks.

* There is one gas station I can’t go to any more. Can’t even pull in the lot to pay at the pump. Because that corner store was my donut and sweet tea supplier. The lure is too strong, so I have to avoid it altogether.

* My body is actually rebelling. Many people have told me about how great they feel after even just a few days of being sugar-free. But I got dizzy spells and headaches. And less-than-optimal intestinal issues.

We will adjust, I know. My mind, and my body, and I.

And the pain will recede until only the scar of it remains.

But today I think I’m kind of glad I didn’t really know these things on October 1. Or I might not have picked up that first small stone of change. And I can already see enough of the landscape changing that dare not give up even the little progress made.

“The man who moves a mountain begins by carrying away small stones.” (Confucius)

 

____________________________________________________

sugarsoberoctoberIn response to the 31 Day blogging challenge, I will be publishing EVERY DAY in October while I stay sugar-free. You can read previous posts HERE. To be alerted to new posts, please follow me on Facebook or Twitter using the links on the right side of this page. Or Subscribe to get posts sent to your Email. Feel free to Tweet your own experiences with #sugarsoberoctober as well.

PLEASE use the comment section to share your own thoughts, questions, or experiences. Like any road, sugar sobriety is one more easily walked with friends. I do my best to reply to every comment.

7 thoughts on “It’s Good to Be a Little Naive (Sugar Sober Series)

  1. […] at a time. Here are a few that have been stirring my soul during the month of October. Day 24: If I Knew Then.(Why it’s Good to be a little Naïve before you start): I wasn’t ready. But I was brave enough to think I was. And maybe that’s how recovery starts […]

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    I love your decision – to become sugar free – does that include stevia, honey, molasses, etc

    Like

    • Beth Hess says:

      For this first part of my journey, I’m focusing mostly on refined sugars, because those are ones that are most addictive to me. I have no doubt, however, that over time, I will be challenged to sacrifice other sweet things, too, in obedience to the One who knows my needs and my body the best. Thanks for the question.

      Like

  3. Sharon says:

    Beth, I love how you’ve spoken of big accomplishments having to begin with small steps. It’s so true of anything in life that’s difficult, but worth the effort. Marriage, parenting, exercise, etc. I really admire and applaud what you’re doing. Even though it’s tough, you are taking the necessary steps to succeed – even avoiding temptation.

    I don’t really have a sugar addiction, but I have gained back most of the weight that I so diligently lost 4 years ago. My disappointment and frustration at myself is keeping me in this quicksand of inaction.

    You, my friend, are inspiring me to DO something about it.

    GOD BLESS!

    (Hope this comment publishes!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beth Hess says:

      Yes, friend, please DO something. I’m learning that when I take one step, God propels me many steps further than I could imagine. We don’t all have the same addictions, but certainly there are things that keep us all from being all we can be. Grateful to share this journey with you, Sharon.

      Like

  4. klsb@comcast.net says:

    Hey Beth – I am on your path. I am lucky because I really hit it hard this week, and I actually feel SO MUCH BETTER. Sugar makes me have headaches and be unbelievably tired. Just five days of doing the right stuff (plus swimming) have taken me to a place I never want to leave.

    I know I will leave it…. sadly. Not sure why I know that, but I do. Hang in there. Keep avoiding temptation until you are mentally strong enough to resist. I am proud of you. I wish we were neighbors so we could do this together.

    Be well.

    Kristi

    Like

    • Beth Hess says:

      I know there is always a tipping point. Where like, just all of the sudden, everything feels better. Not there yet, but I have enough light in the darkness to know it’s coming. I have this determination in my bones that I will NOT leave it this time. I pray I can get all the infection out so the would can really, really heal. No more masking it with diet plans and exercise regiments (though important) … I want my heart and soul to lose the weight they have been carrying around. My body will surely follow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

