For When the Lions Circle (Sugar Sober Series AND Word of The Week)

6

October 26, 2014 by Beth Hess

psalms 23-5(…continued from Day 25. If you haven’t read it yet, please start there.)

Fighting lions is serious business.

They stalk. They are stealthy. They are patient, watching for a moment of weakness in their prey. Once you actually spot them, it’s already too late.

The apostle Peter reminds us the only way to be on appropriate alert is to BE SOBER.

“Be well-balanced (temperate, sober of mind, be vigilant and cautious at all times, for that enemy of yours, the devil, roams around like a lion roaring (in fierce hunger) seeking someone to seize upon and devour.” (1 Peter 5:8 – Amplified)

Fortunately, the sheep are never asked to fight the lions alone.

That is Shepherd work.

And I am a sheep of The Good Shepherd.

The Shepherd who prepares a table for me in the midst of my enemies. Even as the lions circle on the high places, He makes a safe, soft, lush place for me to live and sleep and eat. (Surely it’s no mistake God keeps speaking to me in the language of food!)

Alertness to addiction will be my challenge always. The lions will never stop. It’s their job to prowl. And they are so, so good at it!

Even so, I can ENJOY food. I can CELEBRATE its tastiness. I can approach the table UNAFRAID. Because my Jesus will keep the lions of addiction at bay.

The first 3 Steps of Overeaters Anonymous (and other 12-Step groups) only make sense to me as a package deal.

I Can’t. God Can. I will let Him.

Even when walking through the dark valley of death I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me, guarding, guiding all the way. You provide delicious food for me in the presence of my enemies. You have welcomed me as your guest; blessings overflow!

Again, I proclaim — I cannot save myself. Praise Jesus, I have a Savior.

I Can’t. He Can.

(Join me on Day 27 for more on “I will let Him”)

____________________________________________________

sugarsoberoctoberIn response to the 31 Day blogging challenge, I will be publishing EVERY DAY in October while I stay sugar-free. You can read previous posts HERE. To be alerted to new posts, please follow me on Facebook or Twitter using the links on the right side of this page. Or Subscribe to get posts sent to your Email. Feel free to Tweet your own experiences with #sugarsoberoctober as well.

PLEASE use the comment section to share your own thoughts, questions, or experiences. Like any road, sugar sobriety is one more easily walked with friends. I do my best to reply to every comment.

6 thoughts on “For When the Lions Circle (Sugar Sober Series AND Word of The Week)

  1. […] than I would over an attacking lion. I cannot save myself. Praise God, I have a Savior. Day 26: The Lions Circle. But I have a Good Shepherd.: “Be well-balanced (temperate, sober of mind, be vigilant and cautious at all times, for […]

    Like

  2. […] if God is to be my Shepherd, my Coach, how do I know what He sounds […]

    Like

  3. JoNell says:

    Wow! Beth, these last couple of days have been powerful!

    Like

  4. Cheryl Smith says:

    Yes, praise God, we do not have to approach food in fear, but we can seek our Shepherd to set a guard at the gate of our lips…I have learned to pray this way every day, asking Him to set a guard at the gate of my lips – both incoming AND outgoing, God help me. Food addiction is different from all other addictions, in that it is something we cannot completely lay down. We have to eat FOOD to survive and live, so we cannot totally abstain, as with all other addictions. It is a much trickier thing to deal with, but thank God, we are more than conquerors through HIM. So grateful for the sharing of your heart and journey here…so many of us can relate on so many levels. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

