For When I Tap my Toes & Trust the Driver (Word of the Week)

10

November 16, 2014 by Beth Hess

psalm 20-7In the days before SUVs and seat-belt laws, I spent my days in the back of a station wagon. Exploring the country’s interstates and landmarks in carefully planned summer vacations.

Mile after mile. Four people in a Ford.

Often you could find me ticking off the exits on an atlas. (Even then, I needed to know my place in the world.)

But there were also hours upon hours of car games, singing, caring for dolls, naps, and just laying back watching the sky surround us.

********************

My feet are on the dashboard. Toes tapping to James Taylor. Or The Beatles. Or an 80s pop mix where he quizzes me on band names while we ride.

I had been used to driving myself along these roads. Now I am a wife. And a passenger. I learn to relax and pass the time unconcerned with traffic and other drivers and the gas light.

But it’s not a natural reaction. Letting myself be led. Accepting there is more than one way to get from Point A to Point B. Forgiving the passing up of the parking spot I would have selected.

Not being in control.

********************

I awake every morning this week with Tim McGraw on my mind. “No other shotgun rider beside me singing to the radio.”

He wrote it as a love song. I hear it as a daily reminder of my positioning on this planet.

Stay in the shotgun seat, Beth.

No need to grab the wheel. I’ve got this covered.

Bridges. Tunnels. Mountain passes.

Snow. Ice. Rain. Tornado-like winds.

We travel together.

He drives.

Some trust in chariots and some in horses,
but we trust in the name of the Lord our God. (Psalm 20:7)

____________________________________________________

I return each Sabbath for a fresh Word of the Week. For the God-breathed pages to come alive in a phrase or two on which to spend a 7-day feast. To meditate upon. To use as a jumping off point for whatever other words God would have me hear during the week. I would love for you to join the Word of the Week (WOW) discussion by adding your selected verse to the comments … or reflections on any scripture reading. 

Linking with Unforced Rhythms — a wonderful community of writers who gather each Monday to share with you HERE.

10 thoughts on “For When I Tap my Toes & Trust the Driver (Word of the Week)

  1. ambercadenas says:

    “We travel together.” What a hopeful, comforting statement, no matter what the terrain we travel. Thank you, sweet friend.

    Like

    • Beth Hess says:

      “We trust in the name of the Lord our God” … A mighty fortress. A friend closer than a brother. A lover of our souls. A lifter of our heads. A strong and mighty tower. … Certainly, then, we can trust him as a travel partner, huh?

      Like

  2. Simply Beth says:

    I had to smile over the quizzing of band names while you drive. My husband does that to me ALL THE TIME. And he can name EVERY SINGLE BAND. Me…not so much. I really appreciated this reminder today too. Always blessed by you, friend. xoxo

    Like

  3. Oh, Beth, I love this…and I remember sleeping in the back of the car with my sister.

    Such great insights and I love the verse 🙂

    Like

  4. Sharon says:

    Beth, I loved this post on so many levels!! First of all, yeah, I was a station wagon kid, too. Actually, I can remember this one game we played with my dad. We would all ball up in the back, and then he would either slam on the brakes, or accelerate really fast, and we would go careening all over each other. Safe, huh?!

    I loved your image, too – about riding shotgun and letting the Lord drive. I’m not good at that. I like to be in the driver’s seat. But, more often than not, I’m either caught speeding, running late, or getting lost. Oh Lord, help us all to yield to Your way!

    GOD BLESS!

    Like

    • Beth Hess says:

      My best friend’s mom used to love to make us roll around the back seat, too, Sharon. Ha! You are right that our “driving” skills are sorely lacking. When will we learn?

      Like

  5. I spent many hours in the back of a station wagon myself. Free as a bird back there. ha.

    Letting the Lord drive is a healing process. Thanks for the reminder today that we travel together, but He drives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

