All My Fountains (Three Word Wednesday)

6

November 26, 2014 by Beth Hess

rose-garden-fountainI have tasted a perfectly seasoned steak. And the most decadent of chocolate desserts. I have drunk from a frigid mountain stream. And a freshly-squeezed lemonade at the fair.

I have tasted the rewards of hard labor. And the energy of a ballgame crowd. I have drunk in accolades. And promotions.

I have tasted sunsets. And cloudless starry nights. I have drunk of tender kisses. And music that brings me to tears.

Still I get hungry.
My thirst, it is not quenched.

The world’s fountains, they have failed me.

The wells of food. Of fun. Of success.
Even the cisterns of relationship. Of nature. Of art.

None are Bread of Life. Not one, Living Water.

As they make music they will say, “All my fountains are in you.” Psalm 87:7

The difference is depth.

Drinking of fountains other than Christ are shallow, and satisfaction can only be short-lived. Puddles. Fun to splash in, but lousy for the cleaning of a soul.

Drinking of the fountain of grace is deep. And pure. And fully thirst-quenching. Life-giving. Life-sustaining.

May it be true of me, Lord. That all my fountains are in You.

Chris Tomlin – All My Fountains

This dry and desert land
I tell myself, “Keep walking on”
Hear something up ahead
Water falling like a song
An everlasting stream
Your river carries me home
Let it flow, let it flow

A flood for my soul
A well that never will run dry
I’ve rambled on my own
Never believing I would find
An everlasting stream
Your river carries me home
Let it flow, let it flow

Open the heavens
Come Living Water
All my fountains are in You
You’re strong like a river
Your love is running through
All my fountains are in You

__________________________

TWWbutton200x200_zps62610d74Linking with Kristin Hill Taylor and #threewordwednesday (Click the logo to the left for insights from more wonderful writers and friends.)

6 thoughts on “All My Fountains (Three Word Wednesday)

  1. Simply Beth says:

    So good, Beth. You have a way with words, my friend. Happy Thanksgiving. Much love. xoxo

    Like

  2. Thank you, Beth, for sharing this beautiful truth! Our experiences may seem deep at the time only to reveal their shallowness later. The only place we find true depth is in our Savior Jesus Christ. Beautiful post!

    Like

    • Beth Hess says:

      This verse from Psalms became one of those moments that just hit me between the eyes about Living Water and fountains and how I’ve spent way too long drinking from all the wrong places. I love your blog name, Overflowing Cup, in this context, too, Heather. Oh, how He wants us to overflow with Living Water.

      Like

  3. Kristin Hill Taylor says:

    What a great song! I hadn’t heard this one before. Thanks for sharing and for linking up at Three Word Wednesday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

