Word of the Week: For When I Crave Something Permanent

8

May 5, 2014 by Beth Hess

isaiah40-8Two weeks ago, this North Carolina town was awash with vibrant azaleas. Fuscia. White. Soft Pink. Nearly every yard featured a bush or two of the Southern beauties.

Today any remaining petals hang limp. Most have gathered on the ground. Their day as passed.

And often I let my days pass in much the same way. Disposable moments. Fleeting contacts. Not much of lasting substance.

Which explains why I’m craving something more substantial. More permanent.

Something only The Word can provide.

What is Word of the Week?… GRACE is my word for the year. But the WORD is my fuel for a life.

So I return each Sabbath for a fresh Word of the Week. For the God-breathed pages to come alive in a phrase or two on which to spend a 7-day feast. To dedicate myself to remembering the words throughout the 168 hours of a week. To memorize. To meditate upon. To use as a jumping off point for whatever other words God would have me hear during the week.

For as many of those weeks as I am able, I will post my Word of the Week here, along with any reflection on its selection.

As God often likes to do, He will likely bring here those who might also be blessed by meditating on that particular scripture throughout the week. Or maybe He will use it as a springboard of thought to inspire you to find your own. I would love for you to join the Word of the Week (WOW) discussion by adding your selected verse to the comments … or reflections on any scripture reading. 

The grass withers, the flower fades,
    but the word of our God will stand forever. (Isaiah 40:8)

Linking with Unforced Rhythms — a wonderful community of writers who gather each Monday to share with you HERE.

8 thoughts on “Word of the Week: For When I Crave Something Permanent

  1. I am still “stuck” (in a good way, of course) on the Gospel Lesson from Sunday: the two on the road to Emmaus. It’s in my blood to love the pull and sway, the nuance and subtlety, of storytelling rather than memorizing word-for-word, but the heart of that passage has so much to do with “the unexpected” doesn’t it? How Jesus is always just beyond our wildest expectations, calling us to open our eyes wider?
    But this time, upon the reading out loud that our church does (which I LOVE, btw), I realized that the two disciples recognized him in the presence of the broken. Once he broke the bread, they knew who he was. Wow oh wow oh wow. Jesus does have a special way of revealing himself in the broken, doesn’t he … ? That absolutely floored me and I’ve been feeding on it all week.

    Thanks, Beth, not only for linking with Unforced Rhythms this week, but for being such a good neighbor and visiting everyone. Truly blessed by you.

    Like

  2. aljung72 says:

    I love your idea of having a word for the week! What a great way to stay focused on His Word throughout the week!

    Like

  3. hisfirefly says:

    yes, the Word will stand
    the Word will sing
    the Wrd will speak life and breath into every open heart

    Like

  4. A beautiful idea, Beth.

    Here’s what I journaled from my time in the Word today:

    Psalm 16:8 “I will always look to you, as you stand beside me and protect me from fear” (CEV). He protects me from fear itself? I love that thought. I’m far more troubled by the threat of trouble than actual trouble. I want to claim his protection from even the threat.

    Like

    • Beth Hess says:

      I almost did a scripture on fear today instead, Lisa. The Word says so much about not being afraid, but I love you introducing me to this verse with God’s promise of protection. No fear of fear. Perfect. Thank you for adding your insights here.

      Like

  5. Simply Beth says:

    I love that you are doing this, Beth. I have had thoughts of doing something similar…reflecting on a verse God has used to speak to me. I came across a verse this morning that jumped out at me (sharing an image soon). From Isaiah 12:3: “With joy you will drink deeply from the fountain of salvation!” My word for the year is Joy. My study Bible describes how “from the depth of our gratitude we must praise Him.” And share the Good News with others. I can’t help but to think of the song 10,000 Reasons and begin to sing….
    “Bless the Lord oh my soul
    Oh my soul
    Worship His Holy name
    Sing like never before
    Oh my soul
    I’ll worship Your Holy name.”
    Wishing you a beautiful week.
    Much love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

